The scenic village of Lyndhurst, Ontario came into existence around 1802. Originally named Furnace Falls, it was the site of the Lansdowne Iron Works, the first iron smelter in Upper Canada. The village was established around the smelter as grist and saw mills were built in the early 1800’s. The original furnace and mill complex were destroyed in a fire in 1811.
Eventually, after the war of 1812, Furnace Falls saw the establishment of new saw and grist mills along with flour and carding mills. The population grew as farm land was settled and in 1846, the village was renamed Lyndhurst in honour of John Singleton Copley, Lord Lyndhurst.
The famous Lyndhurst Bridge, built from local sandstone, was completed in 1857 and replaced the original wooden structure which spanned Lyndhurst Creek. It is now the oldest bridge in Ontario. The water passing under this beautiful bridge flows through Lyndhurst Creek from Lower Beverly Lake and continues over the dam to Lyndhurst Lake, Singleton Lake and on to Red Horse Lake, ultimately connecting to the Gananoque River and the St. Lawrence.
Aided by the arrival of the railway in 1884, Lyndhurst became a booming community. By the early 1900’s, it boasted two hotels, several general stores, tailors, a tinsmith, a harness shop, carriage and wagon makers, a granite quarry, a bank, two cheese factories, blacksmiths, milliners, a shingle mill, a carding mill with a dye house and three churches.
Today, Lyndhurst is a much quieter place. The picturesque bridge is the focal point of the village where locals and visitors often come to relax in the public park, throw in a fishing line or just enjoy the view. It is a tranquil place where artists and photographers are often drawn to capture the scenery; where canoes and kayaks begin a memorable paddle. A trip up the creek promises a glimpse of wildlife including jumping fish, great blue herons, turtles, red-winged blackbirds, kingfishers and osprey.